“One Flame”

I told you I wasn’t done with phoenixes! While this is essentially a reproduction of a previous work – or a return to the original sketch, if you prefer – the colors in this digital painting are far from the original color palette.
Instead of staying with fire red, brilliant orange, yellow and white, I turned instead to intense hot-pinks, purples, blues, and crimson to blend with the bright orange, yellow and whites.
It was a great deal of fun to follow the original concept through the process of a digital painting. While I adore many various programs for painting, I am completely pleased with ArtRage. I’ve had the program for about 2 years, but I’m finding that it continues to unveil new techniques and skills with the program.
For “One Flame” I turned to the airbrush, and enjoyed using the possibility to overlay a faint hint of color over another. Markers were used to block out the edges, creating an unusual border.

It makes a really cool tshirt, too.

Published by

J.Marie

Artist. Wife. Mom. Lover of words.

Leave a comment